AAQS Online Learning Programme

Enrol to AAQS School

Click here to Register for accesss to the online learning platform

Already a Student

Click here to login to the online learning platform

What is AAQS Online Learning all about?

A series of professionally-focussed study units have been compiled by senior academics of African Universities, together with assistance of Experienced Practitioners as an online resource for all Quantity Surveyor’s that are interested in increasing their knowledge/skills in subjects related to the practice of quantity surveying with specific emphasis on the African experience. These are available either as individual modules, or as part of a series of modules structured as certificate programmes.

How does it work and how can you participate?

Who should be involved in this initiative?

Anyone wishing to enhance their knowledge/skills base in QS related subjects generally, or those wishing to acquire a widely accepted acknowledgement of their abilities for use in the workplace. In the latter circumstance, this may be achieved through an accredited examination process, leading to the award of formal AAQS certificates of competency. The programme has been designed to cover material and practices commonly applied within African countries.

How does it work and how can you participate?

Study material is lodged on a dedicated learning management system (Moodle Cloud). Learners access the system by registering online for the modules. Modules are run consecutively on an annual timetable, each one over a period of approximately 10 weeks.

During each module, learners may elect to write an examination (necessary if the student is seeking certification), or alternatively engage with any of the other succeeding modules available, for personal self enhancement.

Those wishing to be granted Continuing Professional Development (CPD) recognition are required to register on the certification route.

Learners that successfully complete the prescribed set of modules at a particular Level will be presented with an official AAQS certificate as proof of their demonstrated competency.

Programme Overview

Overview of certificate structure

The programme is comprised of 15 modules – 5 each in Level described as Introductory, Intermediate and Advanced Levels. Each level leads to the potential award of an official AAQS Certificate.

The Professional Ethics module is the compulsory entry module for all learners. Those considering the certification route are required to successfully complete all modules offered within a particular Level.

Learners may only graduate onto the succeeding levels (Intermediate and Advanced levels), after successfully completing the preceding level. The current programme structure is indicated below:

Introductory Level

  • Module 1 – Professional ethics (Compulsory entry to the Programme)
  • Module 2 – Strategic planning of built environment projects
  • Module 3 – Provide early project stage essential advice to clients
  • Module 4 – Management of the tendering process
  • Module 5 – Advanced measurement

Intermediate Level

  • Module 1 – Cost information database management
  • Module 2 – Manage production process of price determination documents
  • Module 3 – Professional practice management
  • Module 4 – Resolving claims, preparing the final account and applying close-out procedures
  • Module 5 – Project service quality management

Advanced Level

  • Module 1 – Manage risk on built environment projects
  • Module 2 – Dispute resolution
  • Module 3 – Life cycle costing
  • Module 4 – Financial feasibility studies
  • Module 5 – Value management

View more details

Interested parties may view greater detail of module content by accessing the site as a Guest. There is no charge for this – Guests are however limited in terms of accessing individual module material.

Should you wish to visit the site as a Guest, simply either use the link provided on the AAQS website, or alternatively type in https://aaqs.moodlecloud.com on your browser.

Easy Enrollment Here!

Programme Timetable

The programme Introductory Level starts mid-January 2022. Registration is limited to 50 learners with modules being offered as per the timetable below. The Intermediate Level will follow 1 month after completion.


Module Start Date End Date
Professional ethics 17th January 2022 25th March 2022
Strategic planning of BE projects 4th April 2022 27th May 2022
Provide early project stage advice

6th June 2022

29th July 2022
Management of tendering process

8th August 2022

30th September 2022
Advanced measurement

11th October 2022

16th December 2022

How to register

Fees payable by learners are:

One-off registration fee

US Dollars 6

for each level


Examination fee

US Dollars 10

per module where a learner registers for the certification route

Firstly, e-mail the AAQS Secretariat on admin@aaqs.org, indicating your intention to register on the programme, providing your

  • Full names,
  • Country of origin
  • Telephone
  • e-mail address (which is to be used in future correspondence between the learner and programme administrators)

Registrations will be limited to 50 per Level. Successful applicants will be sent login details once approved, providing them with a username / student number, together with a password which the student is able to personalise after getting access to the learning portal.

Admission to the programme content will be granted once payment of the US$6 registration fee is made via PayPal – the payment process is clearly indicated on the Moodle site – linked to the 1st Module of each Level. A similar arrangement exists for payment of the Examination Fees – the relevant Examination Modules indicating the PayPal fee requirement which should be done by learners prior to detailed certification material being made available to the learner.

I accept the terms and condittions